The Pride Games Guadalajara 2021 Officially Opens

The Pride Games Guadalajara 2021 Officially Opens

Earlier today the Pride Games Guadalajara 2021 were officially inaugurated, with the participation of more than 1,000 athletes from 22 states of the country, as well as from abroad.

The event has been promoted by the Mexican Sports Federation of Diversity (FMDD,) whose president, Juan Carlos Razo, spoke at the inaugural event held at the Pan-American Hockey Stadium of the Polideportivo Revolución.

“Guadalajara opens its doors once again to diversity. We once again have the opportunity to be together in this edition of the Pride Games, a very important event for diversity in Mexico. We are in the process of applying for the 2026 Gay Games venue. Guadalajara, Mexico, and Latin America are stronger than ever. As a federation, we are very happy with the support received, and with the participation of all of you, which is more than double what we had last year. Many thanks to the authorities for believing more and more in diversity.”

The General Director of Code Jalisco, Fernando Ortega Ramos, highlighted the importance and potential of sport as a factor for the integration of a better society, offering spaces so that each member of the same can practice sport, improving its quality of life.

“The society of Guadalajara and Jalisco is one that believes in sports and that believes in inclusion. This great event, the Pride Games, in its second edition, is the largest of its kind at the national level, and it has allowed us to show the strength that sport has, and that has shown in the global context that sport not only unites races and countries, but unites the diversity existing in the world. We have more than a thousand competitors this year, which shows the accelerated growth and the potential of this great event to continue building a better society.”

The Pride Games Guadalajara 2021 has the participation of athletes from Baja California, Baja California Sur, Mexico City, Chihuahua, Colima, State of Mexico, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Michoacán, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Querétaro , Quintana Roo, Sinaloa, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Veracruz, Yucatán, Zacatecas, Jalisco, as well as representatives of the United States and Guatemala, and will conclude this Sunday, October 3.